A century of achievement 1913 - 2013
Faculty of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences

Faculty of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences

Inclusion and Diversity


The Inclusion and Diversity Committee provides advice to the EMS Faculty Leadership Team on the strategic direction of equity, inclusion and diversity matters. The committee’s goal is to progress toward an inclusive culture for staff and students, encompassing gender, race, cultural and linguistic diversity, disability, and LGBTIQA+.

Link to Terms of Reference: http://www.ecm.uwa.edu.au/docs/protected/equity-and-diversity-committee/terms-of-reference/terms-of-reference-2017/pdf/Terms-of-Reference_20170703.pdf

Get Involved

The Inclusion and Diversity Committee supports and facilitates a range of conversations and activities across the Faculty, with a goal of fostering unique dialogue between students and staff. If you have ideas for new engagement opportunities, please contact a member of the Inclusion and Diversity Committee.

The meetings of the Inclusion and Diversity Committee for 2018 are scheduled for:

Monday, 12 March

Monday, 14 May

Monday, 23 July

Monday, 17 September

Monday, 19 November

Inclusion and Diversity Committee’s Working Groups

  • Gender balance and workplace experiences of existing staff and HDR students, Karen Leers, Academic Services Team
  • Gender balance and student experience, Sally Male, Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering
  • Recruitment practices, Mike Carter, Human Resources
  • Culture and KPIs, Zach Aman, Chemical Engineering


The Committee recognises that education and context are critical to informing conversations on inclusion and diversity. To support this mission, the Committee has collated a number of online resources available to staff and students to help facilitate these conversations:

Harvard assessment

deVries and Todd report

Athena SWAN project

If you are a current student or staff member, and need support for matters related to inclusion and diversity, please consider the following personnel and administrative resources:

The UWA Guild 


UWA Complaint


Faculty Office 



The membership of the Inclusion and Diversity Committee is governed by the Terms of Reference. The current Committee membership is listed below:

  • Professor John Dell, Pro Vice-Chancellor and Executive Dean (Chair)
  • Mr Brian Haggerty, Associate Dean (Community & Engagement) (Co-Chair)
  • Professor Carolyn Oldham, School of Engineering (Civil, Environmental and Mining Engineering) and the UWA Lead for the SAGE Athena SWAN Project
  • Associate Professor Zachary Aman, School of Engineering (Chemical Engineering)
  • Associate Professor Sally Male, School of Engineering (Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering)
  • Associate Professor Mark Reynolds, School of Physics, Mathematics and Computing
  • Winthrop Professor Mohammed Bennamoun, School of Physics, Mathematics and Computing (Computer Science and Software Engineering)
  • Dr Julie Marsh, School of Physics, Mathematics and Computing (Mathematics and Statistics)
  • Associate Professor Nicole Jones, Oceans Graduate School
  • Dr Chantal Bourgault du Coudray, School of Humanities
  • Mr Mike Carter, Human Resources Business Partner, (SDC, Human Resources)
  • Mr John Galvin, Executive General Manager, Georgiou (External Member)
  • Ms Gillian Evans, Planning Manager
  • Ms Ros Wisenthal, Manager, Student Experience, (SDC, Student Experience)
  • Ms Karen Leers, Academic Services Officer (SDC, Academic Services)
  • Ms Madeline Hermawan, Outreach Coordinator (Girls in Engineering), (Brand, Marketing and Recruitment)
  • Ms Dana Crier, Postgraduate Coursework Student and UEC Representative
  • Student Representative, Higher Degree by Research, Vacant
  • Student Representative, Undergraduate by Coursework, Vacant